← Back
Help that may fit you
Where: Ontario · Who: First Nations, status, living on reserve · Need: Women in business
Start again
Your local Indigenous lender (IFI)
The federal Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Program gives up to $99,999 that you do not pay back, for one person’s business (up to $250,000 for a community-owned business). It comes with a loan from your IFI. You apply to your local IFI (or Métis Capital Corporation), not to Ottawa. No deadline.
Lenders in Ontario. Ask the one near you if you are in their area:
See all IFIs, with phone numbers★ Lesser-known grants many people miss5 programs to look at
Open Lesser-known
FNAFO – First Nations Women's Entrepreneurship Program (FNWE)
Who runs it: First Nations Agriculture and Financing of Ontario
Who can get it: First Nations women (Ontario). Any sector, full- or part-time, on or off reserve
What it gives: Micro-loan + grant
Amount: Loan up to $13,800 (6%, no payments first year) + grant up to $6,200; 5% equity
Good to know: The women's version of the FNYE youth program.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund – Indigenous Women in Business
Who runs it: NADF (IFI)
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women 18+, ≥51% owner, NADF area
What it gives: 45% grant + 50% loan
Amount: Up to $25,000 project
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
Women Entrepreneurship Loan Fund (WELF) at IFIs
Who runs it: Delivered by däna Näye Ventures, AIIC, Waubetek, Akaitcho BDC and others
Who can get it: Indigenous women (majority-owned business). Any size business
What it gives: Loan
Amount: däna Näye: up to $50,000; AIIC: up to $50,000; Waubetek: up to $50,000 (package ≤ $100,000)
Good to know: Ask each lender how it works with the IWE micro-loan.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
NACCA Indigenous Women Entrepreneurship Program (IWE)
Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women; business >50% owned & controlled by Indigenous women
What it gives: Micro-loan + grant + coaching
Amount: Up to $25,000 total (typ. 50% loan / 45% grant / 5% equity – per IFI guidelines)
Good to know: Delivered by each IFI; terms vary slightly.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
NWAC #BeTheDrum entrepreneurship navigation
Who runs it: Native Women's Association of Canada
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women, Two-Spirit, transgender & gender-diverse
What it gives: Navigation, mentorship, workshops
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
By type of business
Closed now (2)
These are closed right now. Check their page for the next time they open.
Closed
BDC Inclusive Entrepreneurship Loan
Who runs it: BDC
Who can get it: Women, Indigenous, Black entrepreneurs. ≥51% owned; revenue <$3M
What it gives: Loan
Amount: Up to $350,000
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Closed
CCIB Indigenous Women Entrepreneurship Fund
Who runs it: Canadian Council for Indigenous Business (formerly CCAB), presented by LNG Canada
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Indigenous women-owned businesses
What it gives: Grant (lottery)
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: 2026 closed June 22, 2026.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open means we did not see it closed when we checked. Always check dates and rules on the official page.
What do grant, loan and contribution mean?