Indigenous Funding FinderEvery Child Matters
Translate

Translation is automatic and may have mistakes. Program names and phone numbers stay the same.

You can also use your phone. Android (Chrome): tap ⋮, then Translate. iPhone (Safari): tap aA, then Translate.

← Back

Farming and food

Programs for farming and food businesses and projects.

5 to look at

Open Lesser-known

AAFC Indigenous Pathfinder Service

Who runs it: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Agriculture/agri-food individuals & businesses

What it gives: Free advisory & referral

Amount: Free

Good to know: 1-866-367-8506.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

FCC Indigenous Agriculture & Food Lending

Who runs it: Farm Credit Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit, economic development corps, communities. On- and off-reserve agriculture, food, harvesting

What it gives: Loans

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

First Nations Agriculture and Financing of Ontario (formerly IAPO)

Office: Stirling

Who runs it: Indigenous Financial Institution (NACCA member)

Who can get it: First Nations. Start-up, expansion, acquisition; usually delivers IEP/IWE/youth programs

What it gives: Developmental loans, business support; non-repayable contributions via NACCA programs

Amount: Amount not stated

Call 800-363-0329Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

FNAFO – Beginning Farmers Program

Who runs it: First Nations Agriculture and Financing of Ontario

Who can get it: First Nations (Ontario). New farmers: machinery, inputs, buildings, storage

What it gives: Loan + grant

Amount: Financing up to $50,000 with grant of 30% up to $15,000

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

FNAFO – First Nations Women's Entrepreneurship Program (FNWE)

Who runs it: First Nations Agriculture and Financing of Ontario

Who can get it: First Nations women (Ontario). Any sector, full- or part-time, on or off reserve

What it gives: Micro-loan + grant

Amount: Loan up to $13,800 (6%, no payments first year) + grant up to $6,200; 5% equity

Good to know: The women's version of the FNYE youth program.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Closed now (1)

Closed

AAFC Indigenous Agriculture and Food Systems Initiative (IAFSI)

Who runs it: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Who can get it: First Nations, Métis, Inuit. Agriculture and food-system projects

What it gives: Non-repayable

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Ended (ran 2018 to 2023). Try the AAFC Indigenous Pathfinder Service instead.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Also ask your local IFI. Find my IFI