← Back
Fishing
Programs for fishing businesses and projects.
5 to look at
Open
Atlantic Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative (AICFI)
Who runs it: Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Who can get it: Mi'kmaq, Wolastoqiyik and Peskotomuhkati communities (eligible Atlantic/Gaspé). Communal commercial fishing enterprises
What it gives: Non-repayable contributions, training, business advice
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Community enterprises, not individuals.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Native Fishing Association
Office: West Vancouver
Who runs it: Indigenous Financial Institution (NACCA member)
Who can get it: Indigenous entrepreneurs in service area (ask them if you are in their area). Start-up, expansion, acquisition; usually delivers IEP/IWE/youth programs
What it gives: Developmental loans, business support; non-repayable contributions via NACCA programs
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Native Fishing Association – Herring Gillnet Licence & Halibut Quota Lease
Who runs it: Native Fishing Association (IFI)
Who can get it: Indigenous fishers (skipper or vessel owner; Native Brotherhood membership). Must have gear on vessel; halibut needs L/FL tab
What it gives: Licence/quota lease
Amount: Halibut lease rate 50% of landed catch + licence fees; herring rate based on industry average
Apply by: Nov 20, 2026
Good to know: Apply by Nov 20, 2026.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Northern Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative (NICFI)
Who runs it: Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Who can get it: Indigenous groups not eligible for AICFI or PICFI. Communal commercial fishing and aquaculture enterprises
What it gives: Non-repayable contributions
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Community enterprises.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Pacific Integrated Commercial Fisheries Initiative (PICFI)
Who runs it: Fisheries and Oceans Canada
Who can get it: First Nations (BC and Yukon). Communal commercial fishing enterprises
What it gives: Non-repayable contributions, licences, capacity
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Community enterprises.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Also ask your local IFI. Find my IFI