Indigenous Funding FinderEvery Child Matters
Translate

Translation is automatic and may have mistakes. Program names and phone numbers stay the same.

You can also use your phone. Android (Chrome): tap ⋮, then Translate. iPhone (Safari): tap aA, then Translate.

← Back

Help that may fit you

Where: Ontario · Who: anyone · Need: Women in business

Start again

Your local Indigenous lender (IFI)

The federal Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Program gives up to $99,999 that you do not pay back, for one person’s business (up to $250,000 for a community-owned business). It comes with a loan from your IFI. You apply to your local IFI (or Métis Capital Corporation), not to Ottawa. No deadline.

Lenders in Ontario. Ask the one near you if you are in their area:

See all IFIs, with phone numbers
★ Lesser-known grants many people miss

5 programs to look at

Open Lesser-known

FNAFO – First Nations Women's Entrepreneurship Program (FNWE)

Who runs it: First Nations Agriculture and Financing of Ontario

Who can get it: First Nations women (Ontario). Any sector, full- or part-time, on or off reserve

What it gives: Micro-loan + grant

Amount: Loan up to $13,800 (6%, no payments first year) + grant up to $6,200; 5% equity

Good to know: The women's version of the FNYE youth program.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Nishnawbe Aski Development Fund – Indigenous Women in Business

Who runs it: NADF (IFI)

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women 18+, ≥51% owner, NADF area

What it gives: 45% grant + 50% loan

Amount: Up to $25,000 project

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

Women Entrepreneurship Loan Fund (WELF) at IFIs

Who runs it: Delivered by däna Näye Ventures, AIIC, Waubetek, Akaitcho BDC and others

Who can get it: Indigenous women (majority-owned business). Any size business

What it gives: Loan

Amount: däna Näye: up to $50,000; AIIC: up to $50,000; Waubetek: up to $50,000 (package ≤ $100,000)

Good to know: Ask each lender how it works with the IWE micro-loan.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

NACCA Indigenous Women Entrepreneurship Program (IWE)

Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women; business >50% owned & controlled by Indigenous women

What it gives: Micro-loan + grant + coaching

Amount: Up to $25,000 total (typ. 50% loan / 45% grant / 5% equity – per IFI guidelines)

Good to know: Delivered by each IFI; terms vary slightly.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NWAC #BeTheDrum entrepreneurship navigation

Who runs it: Native Women's Association of Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women, Two-Spirit, transgender & gender-diverse

What it gives: Navigation, mentorship, workshops

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

By type of business

Closed now (2)

These are closed right now. Check their page for the next time they open.

Closed

BDC Inclusive Entrepreneurship Loan

Who runs it: BDC

Who can get it: Women, Indigenous, Black entrepreneurs. ≥51% owned; revenue <$3M

What it gives: Loan

Amount: Up to $350,000

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Closed

CCIB Indigenous Women Entrepreneurship Fund

Who runs it: Canadian Council for Indigenous Business (formerly CCAB), presented by LNG Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Indigenous women-owned businesses

What it gives: Grant (lottery)

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: 2026 closed June 22, 2026.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open means we did not see it closed when we checked. Always check dates and rules on the official page.

What do grant, loan and contribution mean?