Indigenous Funding FinderEvery Child Matters
Translate

Translation is automatic and may have mistakes. Program names and phone numbers stay the same.

You can also use your phone. Android (Chrome): tap ⋮, then Translate. iPhone (Safari): tap aA, then Translate.

← Back

Help that may fit you

Where: Northwest Territories · Who: First Nations, non-status · Need: Start a business

Start again

Your local Indigenous lender (IFI)

The federal Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Program gives up to $99,999 that you do not pay back, for one person’s business (up to $250,000 for a community-owned business). It comes with a loan from your IFI. You apply to your local IFI (or Métis Capital Corporation), not to Ottawa. No deadline.

Lenders in Northwest Territories. Ask the one near you if you are in their area:

See all IFIs, with phone numbers
★ Lesser-known grants many people miss

25 programs to look at

Open

CanNor – Northern Indigenous Economic Opportunities Program (Entrepreneurship & Business Development)

Who runs it: CanNor via regional service delivery partners

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Yukon, NWT, Nunavut

What it gives: Contribution (start/grow business)

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Apply through territory's delivery partner.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

EntrepreNorth

Who runs it: EntrepreNorth

Who can get it: Northern Indigenous entrepreneurs. Yukon, NWT, Nunavut

What it gives: Accelerator/training

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NWT SEED (Support for Entrepreneurs and Economic Development)

Who runs it: GNWT Industry, Tourism and Investment

Who can get it: NWT businesses incl. Indigenous; some streams Indigenous orgs only. Entrepreneurs, micro-business, community economic development

What it gives: Contributions

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Year-round from Apr 1.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Tłı̨chǫ Government – Economic Development (SEED and business support)

Who runs it: Tłı̨chǫ Government

Who can get it: Tłı̨chǫ citizens (Behchokǫ̀, Whatì, Gamètì, Wekweetì). Entrepreneurs

What it gives: Business support / access to SEED funding

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

Women Entrepreneurship Loan Fund (WELF) at IFIs

Who runs it: Delivered by däna Näye Ventures, AIIC, Waubetek, Akaitcho BDC and others

Who can get it: Indigenous women (majority-owned business). Any size business

What it gives: Loan

Amount: däna Näye: up to $50,000; AIIC: up to $50,000; Waubetek: up to $50,000 (package ≤ $100,000)

Good to know: Ask each lender how it works with the IWE micro-loan.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

AAFC Indigenous Pathfinder Service

Who runs it: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Agriculture/agri-food individuals & businesses

What it gives: Free advisory & referral

Amount: Free

Good to know: 1-866-367-8506.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Program – Access to Capital (delivered as NACCA Indigenous Entrepreneurship Program)

Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada via NACCA, IFIs and Métis Capital Corporations

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Start-up, expansion, acquisition; individuals and community-owned businesses

What it gives: Non-repayable contribution (with IFI loan)

Amount: Up to $99,999 individuals; up to $250,000 community-owned businesses (per NACCA IEP page)

Good to know: Apply through your local IFI/Métis Capital Corp, not ISC directly. No deadline.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Build Native 2.0

Who runs it: Centre for Native Nation Builders (Shopify as platform)

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Start-up to scale, e-commerce

What it gives: Training, mentorship, digital tools

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Successor to Shopify's discontinued Build Native.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Canada Council – Creating, Knowing and Sharing

Who runs it: Canada Council for the Arts

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Artists, cultural carriers, groups, orgs

What it gives: Grants (travel, small-scale, short/long-term projects)

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Useful for artisans/creative businesses.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

CCIB Tools for Indigenous Business (TIB) & grants listing

Who runs it: CCIB

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs (free for members)

What it gives: Training, templates, grant listings

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

FCC Indigenous Agriculture & Food Lending

Who runs it: Farm Credit Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit, economic development corps, communities. On- and off-reserve agriculture, food, harvesting

What it gives: Loans

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

Futurpreneur Indigenous Entrepreneur Startup Program (IESP)

Who runs it: Futurpreneur Canada with RBC Origins and BDC

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit (self-identify), on or off reserve. Youth 18–39; pre-launch or ≤24 months operating

What it gives: Collateral-free loan + 2 yrs mentorship

Amount: Up to $75,000 ($25,000 Futurpreneur + up to $50,000 BDC); follow-on up to $40,000

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

Indigenous Business Navigator

Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Businesses, organizations, communities

What it gives: Free single-window referral to federal programs

Amount: Free

Good to know: Email navigator@sac-isc.gc.ca; reply in ~3 business days.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Indigenous Prosperity Foundation

Who runs it: NACCA (charitable arm)

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs, youth

What it gives: Grants/awards & programs via IFIs

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Indigenous Screen Office funding (Production for All, Marketing/Distribution, Travel, Development)

Who runs it: Indigenous Screen Office

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Screen-based creators/companies

What it gives: Grants

Amount: Amount not stated

Apply by: Nov 25, 2026

Good to know: Production Program for All deadline Nov 25, 2026.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

Indigenous Skills and Employment Training (ISET) Program – find your local provider

Who runs it: ESDC via ~110 Indigenous service delivery organizations

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit & urban/non-affiliated. Job seekers; some fund self-employment training

What it gives: Training, wage subsidies, skills funding

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NACCA Business Financing Program

Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs

What it gives: Loans via IFIs

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NACCA Indigenous Entrepreneurship Program (IEP)

Who runs it: NACCA / IFI network

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs and community businesses

What it gives: Non-repayable contribution

Amount: Up to $99,999 individual; up to $250,000 community-owned

Good to know: Same money as AEP Access to Capital; entry point is your IFI.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NACCA Indigenous Tourism support

Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Tourism businesses

What it gives: Financing & support via IFIs

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

NACCA Indigenous Women Entrepreneurship Program (IWE)

Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women; business >50% owned & controlled by Indigenous women

What it gives: Micro-loan + grant + coaching

Amount: Up to $25,000 total (typ. 50% loan / 45% grant / 5% equity – per IFI guidelines)

Good to know: Delivered by each IFI; terms vary slightly.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NACCA Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs program

Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Youth (NADF version: 18–39)

What it gives: Micro-loan + grant + training

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NWAC #BeTheDrum entrepreneurship navigation

Who runs it: Native Women's Association of Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women, Two-Spirit, transgender & gender-diverse

What it gives: Navigation, mentorship, workshops

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

RBC Origins – Indigenous banking & entrepreneurs

Who runs it: RBC

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Individuals, businesses, communities

What it gives: Banking, capital, partners (e.g., Futurpreneur IESP)

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Scotiabank services for Indigenous peoples

Who runs it: Scotiabank

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Individuals, bands, economic development corps

What it gives: Banking, financing

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

TD Indigenous Banking (personal & commercial)

Who runs it: TD Bank Group

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Individuals, businesses, communities

What it gives: Banking, financing

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

By type of business

Closed now (3)

These are closed right now. Check their page for the next time they open.

Closed

AAFC Indigenous Agriculture and Food Systems Initiative (IAFSI)

Who runs it: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Who can get it: First Nations, Métis, Inuit. Agriculture and food-system projects

What it gives: Non-repayable

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Ended (ran 2018 to 2023). Try the AAFC Indigenous Pathfinder Service instead.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Closed

Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada (ITAC) – programs SUSPENDED

Who runs it: Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada

Who can get it: First Nations, Métis, Inuit tourism operators. All ITAC programs

What it gives: n/a

Amount: n/a

Good to know: Programs suspended (2026). A federal note (May 15, 2026) says ITAC paused all programs and services until further notice.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Closed

Indigenous Tourism Fund – Micro and Small Business Stream

Who runs it: Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada (ITAC), federally funded

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Indigenous-majority-owned tourism businesses

What it gives: Non-repayable grant

Amount: Up to $25,000

Good to know: Programs suspended (2026)

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open means we did not see it closed when we checked. Always check dates and rules on the official page.

What do grant, loan and contribution mean?