← Back
Help that may fit you
Where: Nova Scotia · Who: First Nations, non-status · Need: Start a business
Start again
Your local Indigenous lender (IFI)
The federal Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Program gives up to $99,999 that you do not pay back, for one person’s business (up to $250,000 for a community-owned business). It comes with a loan from your IFI. You apply to your local IFI (or Métis Capital Corporation), not to Ottawa. No deadline.
We did not find an IFI listed in Nova Scotia for you. See all lenders.
See all IFIs, with phone numbers★ Lesser-known grants many people miss23 programs to look at
Open
ACOA – Indigenous economic development in Atlantic Canada
Who runs it: Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Atlantic provinces
What it gives: Contributions (Business Development Program etc.)
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Lists REGI, Innovative Communities Fund, BDP, Community Futures.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Membertou L'nui-Kina'masi (entrepreneurship and supplier development)
Who runs it: Membertou First Nation
Who can get it: First Nations (Mi'kmaw). Entrepreneurs and Indigenous suppliers
What it gives: Advisory / supplier development
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Nation-run support; no grant amount shown.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
NSCC Entrepreneur in the Making – Mi'kmaq & Indigenous Cohort
Who runs it: Nova Scotia Community College
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. NSCC students/grads
What it gives: Seed funding + mentorship
Amount: Up to $3,500
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
AAFC Indigenous Pathfinder Service
Who runs it: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Agriculture/agri-food individuals & businesses
What it gives: Free advisory & referral
Amount: Free
Good to know: 1-866-367-8506.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Program – Access to Capital (delivered as NACCA Indigenous Entrepreneurship Program)
Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada via NACCA, IFIs and Métis Capital Corporations
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Start-up, expansion, acquisition; individuals and community-owned businesses
What it gives: Non-repayable contribution (with IFI loan)
Amount: Up to $99,999 individuals; up to $250,000 community-owned businesses (per NACCA IEP page)
Good to know: Apply through your local IFI/Métis Capital Corp, not ISC directly. No deadline.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Build Native 2.0
Who runs it: Centre for Native Nation Builders (Shopify as platform)
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Start-up to scale, e-commerce
What it gives: Training, mentorship, digital tools
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Successor to Shopify's discontinued Build Native.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Canada Council – Creating, Knowing and Sharing
Who runs it: Canada Council for the Arts
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Artists, cultural carriers, groups, orgs
What it gives: Grants (travel, small-scale, short/long-term projects)
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Useful for artisans/creative businesses.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
CCIB Tools for Indigenous Business (TIB) & grants listing
Who runs it: CCIB
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs (free for members)
What it gives: Training, templates, grant listings
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
FCC Indigenous Agriculture & Food Lending
Who runs it: Farm Credit Canada
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit, economic development corps, communities. On- and off-reserve agriculture, food, harvesting
What it gives: Loans
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
Futurpreneur Indigenous Entrepreneur Startup Program (IESP)
Who runs it: Futurpreneur Canada with RBC Origins and BDC
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit (self-identify), on or off reserve. Youth 18–39; pre-launch or ≤24 months operating
What it gives: Collateral-free loan + 2 yrs mentorship
Amount: Up to $75,000 ($25,000 Futurpreneur + up to $50,000 BDC); follow-on up to $40,000
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
Indigenous Business Navigator
Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Businesses, organizations, communities
What it gives: Free single-window referral to federal programs
Amount: Free
Good to know: Email navigator@sac-isc.gc.ca; reply in ~3 business days.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Indigenous Prosperity Foundation
Who runs it: NACCA (charitable arm)
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs, youth
What it gives: Grants/awards & programs via IFIs
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Indigenous Screen Office funding (Production for All, Marketing/Distribution, Travel, Development)
Who runs it: Indigenous Screen Office
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Screen-based creators/companies
What it gives: Grants
Amount: Amount not stated
Apply by: Nov 25, 2026
Good to know: Production Program for All deadline Nov 25, 2026.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
Indigenous Skills and Employment Training (ISET) Program – find your local provider
Who runs it: ESDC via ~110 Indigenous service delivery organizations
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit & urban/non-affiliated. Job seekers; some fund self-employment training
What it gives: Training, wage subsidies, skills funding
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
NACCA Business Financing Program
Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs
What it gives: Loans via IFIs
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
NACCA Indigenous Entrepreneurship Program (IEP)
Who runs it: NACCA / IFI network
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs and community businesses
What it gives: Non-repayable contribution
Amount: Up to $99,999 individual; up to $250,000 community-owned
Good to know: Same money as AEP Access to Capital; entry point is your IFI.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
NACCA Indigenous Tourism support
Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Tourism businesses
What it gives: Financing & support via IFIs
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
NACCA Indigenous Women Entrepreneurship Program (IWE)
Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women; business >50% owned & controlled by Indigenous women
What it gives: Micro-loan + grant + coaching
Amount: Up to $25,000 total (typ. 50% loan / 45% grant / 5% equity – per IFI guidelines)
Good to know: Delivered by each IFI; terms vary slightly.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
NACCA Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs program
Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Youth (NADF version: 18–39)
What it gives: Micro-loan + grant + training
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
NWAC #BeTheDrum entrepreneurship navigation
Who runs it: Native Women's Association of Canada
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women, Two-Spirit, transgender & gender-diverse
What it gives: Navigation, mentorship, workshops
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
RBC Origins – Indigenous banking & entrepreneurs
Who runs it: RBC
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Individuals, businesses, communities
What it gives: Banking, capital, partners (e.g., Futurpreneur IESP)
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Scotiabank services for Indigenous peoples
Who runs it: Scotiabank
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Individuals, bands, economic development corps
What it gives: Banking, financing
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
TD Indigenous Banking (personal & commercial)
Who runs it: TD Bank Group
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Individuals, businesses, communities
What it gives: Banking, financing
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
By type of business
Closed now (3)
These are closed right now. Check their page for the next time they open.
Closed
AAFC Indigenous Agriculture and Food Systems Initiative (IAFSI)
Who runs it: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Who can get it: First Nations, Métis, Inuit. Agriculture and food-system projects
What it gives: Non-repayable
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Ended (ran 2018 to 2023). Try the AAFC Indigenous Pathfinder Service instead.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Closed
Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada (ITAC) – programs SUSPENDED
Who runs it: Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada
Who can get it: First Nations, Métis, Inuit tourism operators. All ITAC programs
What it gives: n/a
Amount: n/a
Good to know: Programs suspended (2026). A federal note (May 15, 2026) says ITAC paused all programs and services until further notice.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Closed
Indigenous Tourism Fund – Micro and Small Business Stream
Who runs it: Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada (ITAC), federally funded
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Indigenous-majority-owned tourism businesses
What it gives: Non-repayable grant
Amount: Up to $25,000
Good to know: Programs suspended (2026)
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open means we did not see it closed when we checked. Always check dates and rules on the official page.
What do grant, loan and contribution mean?