← Back
Help that may fit you
Where: Manitoba · Who: First Nations, status, living on reserve · Need: Kids, health and family
Start again
See all help for families5 programs to look at
Open
Aboriginal Head Start in Urban and Northern Communities
Who runs it: Public Health Agency of Canada
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Children 0–6 off-reserve/urban/north
What it gives: Free early learning & family programs
Amount: Free
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Indigenous Early Learning and Child Care
Who runs it: ESDC with Indigenous partners
Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Families with young children
What it gives: Child care funding/programs
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Jordan's Principle
Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada
Who can get it: First Nations children (incl. off-reserve). Children/youth under age of majority
What it gives: Funds health, social, education products & services
Amount: Case-by-case
Good to know: 24/7 line 1-855-572-4453.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Non-Insured Health Benefits (NIHB)
Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada
Who can get it: Registered First Nations & recognized Inuit. All ages
What it gives: Drugs, dental, vision, equipment, counselling, medical travel
Amount: Benefit coverage
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
On-reserve Income Assistance
Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada via bands
Who can get it: First Nations ordinarily resident on reserve (and status FN in Yukon). Low/no income
What it gives: Income assistance (last resort)
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open means we did not see it closed when we checked. Always check dates and rules on the official page.
What do grant, loan and contribution mean?