← Back
Nation & tribal council funds (9)
Open Lesser-known
Citxw Nlaka'pamux Assembly Entrepreneur Equity-Matching Initiative (CNA-EEMI)
Who runs it: Citxw Nlaka'pamux Assembly with Interior Indigenous Community Futures
Who can get it: Members of participating CNA bands. Establishing, modernizing or expanding a business
What it gives: Equity-matching grant
Amount: Up to $10,000
Good to know: Example of a Nation fund delivered through an IFI.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
Cree Entrepreneurship Assistance Fund (CEAF)
Who runs it: Cree Nation Government – Department of Commerce and Industry
Who can get it: Cree (JBNQA beneficiaries); Cree-owned businesses (100% or 51%). Eeyou Istchee businesses; business plan, 10% cash equity, Band Council Resolution
What it gives: Non-repayable grant / forgivable equipment loan
Amount: Up to 25% of eligible costs, max $150,000 per application
Good to know: A committee approves requests over $25,000.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
Cree Real Estate Entrepreneurship Development (CREED) Program
Who runs it: Cree Nation Government
Who can get it: Cree (JBNQA beneficiaries). Construction, real estate, renovation, landscaping and design businesses
What it gives: Grant
Amount: Up to 25% of project cost, max $100,000
Good to know: No deadline – one-by-one review.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
Kitikmeot Business Assistance Program (KBAP)
Who runs it: Kitikmeot Inuit Association
Who can get it: Kitikmeot Inuit; Inuit-owned businesses. Start-up, capital, product development, marketing; ~10% equity
What it gives: Non-repayable contribution
Amount: Up to $25,000
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
Kivalliq Inuit Association – Business Development Fund (BDF)
Who runs it: Kivalliq Inuit Association
Who can get it: Kivalliq Inuit; Inuit-owned businesses. Five categories: planning & development, creation & expansion, marketing, training, business relief
What it gives: Non-repayable
Amount: Lifetime maximum $25,000 in each of the 5 categories
Good to know: Policy updated April 2026.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
Nisga'a Business Development Fund
Who runs it: Nisga'a Lisims Government
Who can get it: Nisga'a citizens / Nisga'a businesses. Start-up, expansion, feasibility, business skills
What it gives: Grant
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Contact: nisgaabusinessdevfund@nisgaanation.ca or 250-633-3000 (from the official page).
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Closed
Siksika Small Business Grant
Who runs it: Siksika Nation
Who can get it: Siksika Nation members (51%+ owned). Start, expand or acquire a business
What it gives: Grant
Amount: Up to $15,000 initial + one final additional up to $10,000
Good to know: The 2026 deadline (May 15, 2026) has passed.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Southern Chiefs Economic Development (SCED)
Who runs it: Southern Chiefs' Organization
Who can get it: First Nations (southern Manitoba). Entrepreneurs; partnership with Futurpreneur for ages 18-39
What it gives: Business development support
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Tłı̨chǫ Government – Economic Development (SEED and business support)
Who runs it: Tłı̨chǫ Government
Who can get it: Tłı̨chǫ citizens (Behchokǫ̀, Whatì, Gamètì, Wekweetì). Entrepreneurs
What it gives: Business support / access to SEED funding
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026