Indigenous Funding FinderEvery Child Matters
Translate

Translation is automatic and may have mistakes. Program names and phone numbers stay the same.

You can also use your phone. Android (Chrome): tap ⋮, then Translate. iPhone (Safari): tap aA, then Translate.

← Back

Federal – business (34)

Open Lesser-known

AAFC Indigenous Pathfinder Service

Who runs it: Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Agriculture/agri-food individuals & businesses

What it gives: Free advisory & referral

Amount: Free

Good to know: 1-866-367-8506.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Program – Access to Business Opportunities

Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada

Who can get it: First Nations & Inuit communities, Indigenous-owned organizations/associations. Regional or national projects only – NOT individual start-ups

What it gives: Non-repayable contribution

Amount: Up to $500,000 per recipient per year (stream budget $850,000/yr)

Apply by: Oct 31, 2026

Good to know: 2026 deadline Oct 31, 2026.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Aboriginal Entrepreneurship Program – Access to Capital (delivered as NACCA Indigenous Entrepreneurship Program)

Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada via NACCA, IFIs and Métis Capital Corporations

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Start-up, expansion, acquisition; individuals and community-owned businesses

What it gives: Non-repayable contribution (with IFI loan)

Amount: Up to $99,999 individuals; up to $250,000 community-owned businesses (per NACCA IEP page)

Good to know: Apply through your local IFI/Métis Capital Corp, not ISC directly. No deadline.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

ACOA – Indigenous economic development in Atlantic Canada

Who runs it: Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Atlantic provinces

What it gives: Contributions (Business Development Program etc.)

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Lists REGI, Innovative Communities Fund, BDP, Community Futures.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

BDC Indigenous Entrepreneur Loan

Who runs it: Business Development Bank of Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Businesses operating ≥12 months; Canadian citizen/PR

What it gives: Loan (preferred rate, no fees)

Amount: Up to $350,000

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Canada Council – Creating, Knowing and Sharing

Who runs it: Canada Council for the Arts

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Artists, cultural carriers, groups, orgs

What it gives: Grants (travel, small-scale, short/long-term projects)

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Useful for artisans/creative businesses.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Canada Indigenous Loan Guarantee Program

Who runs it: Canada Indigenous Loan Guarantee Corporation (CDEV)

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit groups/communities. Equity stakes in major natural resource & energy projects

What it gives: Loan guarantee

Amount: $20 million to $1 billion per guarantee ($10B program)

Good to know: Community-scale, not small business.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

CanNor – Northern Indigenous Economic Opportunities Program (Entrepreneurship & Business Development)

Who runs it: CanNor via regional service delivery partners

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Yukon, NWT, Nunavut

What it gives: Contribution (start/grow business)

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Apply through territory's delivery partner.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

CED Québec – Indigenous applicants

Who runs it: Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Quebec

What it gives: Contributions

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Not Indigenous-only.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

CIB Indigenous Equity Initiative

Who runs it: Canada Infrastructure Bank

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit communities. Equity in infrastructure projects CIB also invests in

What it gives: Loan

Amount: $5 million to $100 million; up to 90% of Indigenous equity

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

EDC Indigenous entrepreneurs (incl. Inclusive Trade Investment Program)

Who runs it: Export Development Canada

Who can get it: Indigenous-owned/led exporters. Exporters

What it gives: Guarantees, credit insurance, equity

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

FCC Indigenous Agriculture & Food Lending

Who runs it: Farm Credit Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit, economic development corps, communities. On- and off-reserve agriculture, food, harvesting

What it gives: Loans

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

FedDev Ontario programs (Indigenous applicants eligible)

Who runs it: FedDev Ontario

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Southern Ontario

What it gives: Contributions/loans

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Not Indigenous-only; FedDev has a dedicated Indigenous support team.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

FedNor – Northern Ontario Development Program (Indigenous eligible)

Who runs it: FedNor

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit businesses, communities, orgs. Northern Ontario

What it gives: Contribution

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Not Indigenous-only; Indigenous applicants eligible.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

Futurpreneur Indigenous Entrepreneur Startup Program (IESP)

Who runs it: Futurpreneur Canada with RBC Origins and BDC

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit (self-identify), on or off reserve. Youth 18–39; pre-launch or ≤24 months operating

What it gives: Collateral-free loan + 2 yrs mentorship

Amount: Up to $75,000 ($25,000 Futurpreneur + up to $50,000 BDC); follow-on up to $40,000

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Indigenous Business Export Support Program

Who runs it: Trade Commissioner Service (Global Affairs Canada)

Who can get it: Indigenous majority-owned businesses. Exporters

What it gives: Export funding, trade missions, advice

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Continuous intake.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

Indigenous Business Navigator

Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Businesses, organizations, communities

What it gives: Free single-window referral to federal programs

Amount: Free

Good to know: Email navigator@sac-isc.gc.ca; reply in ~3 business days.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Indigenous Growth Fund (IGF)

Who runs it: NACCA with BDC Capital (fund manager), federal & private investors

Who can get it: Indirect – lends to IFIs who lend to First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Growth-stage businesses via IFIs

What it gives: Debt capital to IFIs (evergreen fund)

Amount: Fund of ~$153M committed (not a per-business amount)

Good to know: Entrepreneurs access it through their IFI.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Indigenous Prosperity Foundation

Who runs it: NACCA (charitable arm)

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs, youth

What it gives: Grants/awards & programs via IFIs

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Indigenous Screen Office funding (Production for All, Marketing/Distribution, Travel, Development)

Who runs it: Indigenous Screen Office

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Screen-based creators/companies

What it gives: Grants

Amount: Amount not stated

Apply by: Nov 25, 2026

Good to know: Production Program for All deadline Nov 25, 2026.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

Indigenous Skills and Employment Training (ISET) Program – find your local provider

Who runs it: ESDC via ~110 Indigenous service delivery organizations

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit & urban/non-affiliated. Job seekers; some fund self-employment training

What it gives: Training, wage subsidies, skills funding

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Closed

Indigenous Tourism Fund – Micro and Small Business Stream

Who runs it: Indigenous Tourism Association of Canada (ITAC), federally funded

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Indigenous-majority-owned tourism businesses

What it gives: Non-repayable grant

Amount: Up to $25,000

Good to know: Programs suspended (2026)

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Closed

Indigenous Tourism Fund – Signature Indigenous Tourism Experiences Stream

Who runs it: ISED / regional development agencies

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Tourism businesses/organizations

What it gives: Contribution

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Programs suspended (2026). No longer accepting applications.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NACCA Business Financing Program

Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs

What it gives: Loans via IFIs

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NACCA Housing Finance Network

Who runs it: NACCA / participating IFIs

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Homebuyers/households (incl. on-reserve where offered)

What it gives: Housing finance (mortgages/loans) via IFIs

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NACCA Indigenous Entrepreneurship Program (IEP)

Who runs it: NACCA / IFI network

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Entrepreneurs and community businesses

What it gives: Non-repayable contribution

Amount: Up to $99,999 individual; up to $250,000 community-owned

Good to know: Same money as AEP Access to Capital; entry point is your IFI.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NACCA Indigenous Tourism support

Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Tourism businesses

What it gives: Financing & support via IFIs

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open Lesser-known

NACCA Indigenous Women Entrepreneurship Program (IWE)

Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Women; business >50% owned & controlled by Indigenous women

What it gives: Micro-loan + grant + coaching

Amount: Up to $25,000 total (typ. 50% loan / 45% grant / 5% equity – per IFI guidelines)

Good to know: Delivered by each IFI; terms vary slightly.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

NACCA Indigenous Youth Entrepreneurs program

Who runs it: NACCA / IFIs

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. Youth (NADF version: 18–39)

What it gives: Micro-loan + grant + training

Amount: Amount not stated

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Northern REACHE

Who runs it: CIRNAC

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit & northern communities. Yukon, NWT, Nunavut, Nunavik, Labrador

What it gives: Contribution (clean energy)

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: No deadline (continuous).

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

PacifiCan (BC) – Indigenous applicants

Who runs it: Pacific Economic Development Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. BC

What it gives: Contributions

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Not Indigenous-only.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

PrairiesCan – Indigenous applicants

Who runs it: Prairies Economic Development Canada

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit. AB, SK, MB

What it gives: Contributions

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: Not Indigenous-only.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Strategic Partnerships Initiative

Who runs it: Indigenous Services Canada (federal partners)

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit communities. Community-scale multi-year opportunities; no direct applications – federal partners bring projects forward

What it gives: Contribution

Amount: Program budget $14.45M/yr (not per project)

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026

Open

Wah-ila-toos (clean energy single window)

Who runs it: Government of Canada (NRCan, ISC, CIRNAC, ECCC)

Who can get it: First Nations (status & non-status), Métis, Inuit communities, Indigenous governments, dev corps. Clean energy projects

What it gives: Funding & technical support (multiple programs)

Amount: Amount not stated

Good to know: CERRC fully committed; check which sub-programs are open.

Official page ↗

Last checked Oct 31, 2026