← Back
Atlantic – PEI, NL, NB, NS (9)
Closed
Innovation PEI – Ignition Fund (open to all, not Indigenous-only)
Who runs it: Government of PEI (Innovation PEI)
Who can get it: Any (not Indigenous-specific). New PEI start-ups
What it gives: Non-repayable (amount varies)
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Open to everyone, not only Indigenous people. This round closed Oct 26, 2026.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
JEDI Aboriginal Development Fund – Business/Entrepreneurship Development
Who runs it: Joint Economic Development Initiative (JEDI)
Who can get it: First Nations (New Brunswick). Individually owned or community-owned businesses; business plans, marketing plans, training, mentoring
What it gives: Non-repayable (reimbursement)
Amount: Up to 50% of planning costs: max $8,000 (individual) / $16,000 (community-owned)
Good to know: First-come first-served, limited funds. Needs business number/registration.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Membertou L'nui-Kina'masi (entrepreneurship and supplier development)
Who runs it: Membertou First Nation
Who can get it: First Nations (Mi'kmaw). Entrepreneurs and Indigenous suppliers
What it gives: Advisory / supplier development
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Nation-run support; no grant amount shown.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Newfoundland and Labrador Green Transition Fund – Indigenous stream
Who runs it: Government of NL (Jobs, Growth and Rural Development)
Who can get it: Indigenous governments, organizations and businesses. Green-economy projects
What it gives: Non-repayable
Amount: Amount not stated
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Nunatsiavut Government – Self Employment Benefit Program (SEBP)
Who runs it: Nunatsiavut Government (Education Division)
Who can get it: Inuit (Labrador Inuit Land Claims Agreement beneficiaries). Unemployed beneficiaries starting a business full-time; apply before start-up
What it gives: Income support
Amount: Income for up to 26 weeks (weekly amount not stated); NG allocates $100,000/yr of ISETS funding
Good to know: Goes with the Nunatsiavut Business Grant.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
NunatuKavut Business Centre – Consultant Advisory Services
Who runs it: NunatuKavut Business Centre (Nunacor) with NunatuKavut Community Council
Who can get it: Inuit (NunatuKavut members). Entrepreneurs needing a consultant for a business plan
What it gives: Non-repayable cost share
Amount: 75% of consulting cost, max $6,500 (before taxes)
Good to know: You pay 25% and anything over $6,500.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
NunatuKavut Entrepreneur Training (NET) Program
Who runs it: NunatuKavut Business Centre
Who can get it: Inuit (NunatuKavut members). Business owners or key staff; training tied to the business
What it gives: Non-repayable training cost share
Amount: 75% of training cost, max $3,500
Good to know: Needs Business Advisor recommendation.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open Lesser-known
NunatuKavut Self-Employment Assistance (SEA) and YESS SEA
Who runs it: NunatuKavut Business Centre / NunatuKavut Community Council
Who can get it: Inuit (NunatuKavut members). Unemployed or underemployed (<20 hrs/wk) starting a new business; YESS stream up to age 30
What it gives: Living benefit
Amount: Up to $8,000, max 8 months
Good to know: Apply no later than 6 months after start of business. Professional business plan required.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026
Open
Qalipu First Nation – Self-Employment Assistance Program (SEAP)
Who runs it: Qalipu First Nation (Education & Training)
Who can get it: Indigenous (Qalipu clients). Starting a full-time, non-home-based business; apply before business opens
What it gives: Living allowance grant + business-plan consultant funding
Amount: Amount not stated
Good to know: Funds are for personal support only, not business investment. Home-based businesses not eligible.
Official page ↗Last checked Oct 31, 2026